HemLife

Hemlock By: Kathleen Peacock

12985143


Summary

Mac’s life has been turned upside down. She is being haunted by Amy in her dreams, and an extremist group called the Trackers has come to Mac’s hometown of Hemlock to hunt down Amy’s killer, A white werewolf. Lupine syndrome – also known as the werewolf virus is on the rise across the country. Many of the infected try to hide their symptoms, but bloodlust is not easy to control. Wanting desperately to put an end to her nightmares, Mac decides to investigate Amy’s murder herself. She discovers secrets lurking in the shadows of Hemlock, secrets about Amy’s boyfriend, Jason, her good pal Kyle, and especially her late best friend. Mac is thrown into a maelstrom of violence and betrayal that puts her life at risk. Kathleen Peacock’s thrilling novel is the first in the Hemlock trilogy, a spellbinding urban fantasy series filled with provocative questions about prejudice, trust, lies, and love.


Review

A small town full of dark monsters, teen boy drama, and the ghost of a dead best friend, well that can pretty much sum up Mac’s mess she calls life at the moment in this book. From her loved ones dying and disappearing right before her eye to finding out her loved ones could have done the killing all seems to be the normal day for the Heroin in this book series. The deathly dark tone this book gives off has me begging for more as I flip through chapters racing to reach the end of this mystery. From the outside, this book fills you with promises to be a book full of death and tragedy, but once you’ve broken open the cover you are left with one death and way too much tragedy, but its tragedy that takes up residence in your heart and really makes you feel for the characters in this book. The feeling of losing so much and constantly trying to fight for someone to stay with you just to have them ripped away from you anyways. I feel for this book in more ways than more.

The morbid tone and the way people are divided into two different groups, it’s almost like the red scare where everyone is turning on one another and the people you love are all wearing masks that you never could see through. The way this book holds the mystery until the very end without giving away any hints as to who the killer might be has made reading it worth the wait to reach the ending.

The characters in this book are some that I didn’t think I would even care about until their life was put on the line but there is that saying of “you never know what you had until its gone” has made me appreciate these lovable characters and feel the struggle that they all must go through to make things right for the best future even if it means hurting the one person you love.  This book is a fantasy filled with lessons about life itself.


Book Rating

 3.5/5 Red Roses 

I chose that rating because even though the plot line held up great and some of the characters have made a home in my heart I still feel like the cliche love triangle and the whole Lupine syndrome just seems very vague to me if you can catch it from a scratch or bite, could you still be able to catch it if you have an open wound and a werewolf still touched you I feel like that should have been researched a little better or just made it more reasonable really.

Read this book if you want a good werewolf, murder, mystery without looking too hard into the science of the book.

Advertisements

Reviews for Women Who Dressed in Black

These Reviews are meant for people who love the dark side of things always craving a dark gothic stand on life where everything is turned upside down in someone’s life and they are left to face the trouble of the darkness and accept their fate or try to change it these reviews are for the Women In Black.

1. Darkness before Dawn By: J.A.London

12872080.jpg

The first book in a romantic and drama-packed trilogy perfect for fans of Rachel Vincent, Julie Kagawa, and Alyson Noel.At seventeen, Dawn Montgomery knows that monsters really do come out at night, after all, they are her job. It’s just after the thirty-years war between vampires and humans, and as an ambassador between the two sides (a role she inherited when her parents were killed), Dawn quickly learns that balancing schoolwork, teen life, and the requests of Lord Valentine, the most frightening vampire in the region, isn’t easy. And it only gets more complicated when she forms a tentative friendship with Victor, the mysterious stranger who rescued her from a hoard of vampires…only to discover that not only is Victor a vampire, but that he is Lord Valentine’s son. Soon Dawn is struggling to remember that with everything on the line, she can’t afford to fall for the enemy. Lusciously romantic and full of action-packed drama, readers will be swept away by this thrilling novel, the first in a trilogy.


2. Something Strange and Deadly By: Susan Dennard

9859436.jpgThere’s something strange and deadly loose in Philadelphia, Eleanor Fitt has a lot to worry about. Her brother has gone missing, her family has fallen on hard times, and her mother is determined to marry her off to any rich young man who walks by. But this is nothing compared to what she’s just read in the newspaper: The Dead are rising in Philadelphia. And then, in a frightening attack, a zombie delivers a letter to Eleanor from her brother. Whoever is controlling the Dead army has taken her brother as well. If Eleanor is going to find him, she’ll have to venture into the lab of the notorious Spirit-Hunters, who protect the city from supernatural forces. But as Eleanor spends more time with the Spirit-Hunters, including the maddeningly stubborn yet handsome Daniel, the situation becomes dire. And now, not only is her reputation on the line, but her very life may hang in the balance.


3. Hemlock By: Kathleen Peacock

12985143.jpg

Mackenzie and Amy were best friends until Amy was Murdered. Since then, Mac’s life has been turned upside down. She is being haunted by Amy in her dreams, and an extremist group called the Trackers has come to Mac’s hometown of Hemlock to hunt down Amy’s killer: A white werewolf. Lupine syndrome also known as the werewolf virus is on the rise across the country. Many of the infected try to hide their symptoms, but bloodlust is not easy to control. Wanting desperately to put an end to her nightmares, Mac decides to investigate Amy’s murder herself. She discovers secrets lurking in the shadows of Hemlock, secrets about Amy’s boyfriend, Jason, her good pal Kyle, and especially her late best friend. Mac is thrown into a maelstrom of violence and betrayal that puts her life at risk.


4. Defiance By C.J.Redwine

11410430.jpg

While the other girls in the walled city-state of Baalboden learn to sew and dance, Rachel Adams learns to track and hunt. While they bend like reeds to the will of their male Protectors, she uses hers for sparring practice. When Rachel’s father fails to return from a courier mission and is declared dead, the city’s brutal Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector: her father’s apprentice, Logan the boy she declared her love to and who turned her down two years before. Left with nothing but fierce belief in her father’s survival, Rachel decides to escape and find him herself. As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by a monster that can’t be killed and an army of assassins out for blood, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that will incite a war decades in the making.